Tennessee Gun Control Laws at a Glance
The Second Amendment to the U.S. Constitution guarantees the right of U.S. citizens to own firearms, but states are free to establish certain limits to how guns are purchased and carried. While Tennessee gun control laws are relatively mild, the state requires background checks for gun purchases from licensed dealers and has some other limited restrictions. Tennessee no longer requires a 15-day waiting period for gun purchases.
The main provisions of Tennessee's gun control laws can be found in the following chart.
|Code Section||39-17-1301, et seq.|
|Illegal Arms||Machine gun; short-barreled rifle or shotgun; silencer; explosive weapon; device designed, made or adapted for delivering or shooting an explosive weapon|
|Background Check||The Tennessee Bureau of Investigation charges a $10 fee on every firearm purchase in order to conduct a background check.
|Who May Not Own||1. Convicted of felony (imprisonment exceeding 1 yr.) unless pardoned or conviction expunged; 2. Fugitives from justice; 3. Unsound mind; 4. Minors; 5. Addicted to alcohol; 6. Drug addict; 7. Convicted of illegal sale of alcoholic beverages|
|Law Prohibiting Firearms On or Near School Grounds||Misdemeanor or Felony. 39-17-1309|
Note: State laws are always subject to change through the passage of new legislation, rulings in the higher courts (including federal decisions), ballot initiatives, and other means. While we strive to provide the most current information available, please consult an attorney or conduct your own legal research to verify the state law(s) you are researching.
Who May Not Own Guns in Tennessee?
Since guns are designed specifically to take the life of an animal or another human, the state recognizes certain situations where gun ownership is prohibited. In Tennessee, you may not own a firearm if you:
- Were convicted of a felony resulting in more than one year of prison time (unless pardoned or expunged);
- Are a fugitive from justice;
- Are of unsound mind (insanity);
- Are a minor (under 18);
- Are addicted to alcohol or drugs; or
- Were convicted of illegal alcohol sales.
It is worth noting that, according to Tennessee House Bill 754, transferring a firearm to an individual who is ineligible for firearm ownership due to their mental competence or who are receiving mental health and/or substance abuse treatment at a hospital or healthcare facility is a class A misdemeanor.
Open Carry and Concealed Carry Provisions
Tennessee issues permits for the concealed or open carry of handguns, but not loaded long guns. However, an individual is free to carry a loaded handgun or long gun in their car without a permit as part of the expanded "castle doctrine" self-defense law.
Research the Law
- Tennessee Law
- Criminal Law
- Official State Codes - Links to the official online statutes (laws) in all 50 states and DC.
Tennessee Gun Control Laws: Related Resources
- Gun Laws
- May I Shoot an Intruder?
- Stand Your Ground Laws
- 2nd Amendment to the U.S. Constitution
- Find a Criminal Law Attorney
Facing Gun-Related Charges? Consult an Attorney Today
While the Second Amendment protects the right of law-abiding citizens to own and bear firearms, there are certain limits imposed at both the state and federal levels. If you have been charged with a gun-related crime, even if you believe you were wrongly charged, it's in your best interests to contact a criminal defense attorney licensed in your state.
This article originally posted at: https://statelaws.findlaw.com/tennessee-law/tennessee-gun-control-laws.html